Vegan apricot cashew nakd bars

Snacks, who doesn’t love them? Come 3pm I am fully in need of a sugar kick to get me through the rest of the afternoon. I especially love dried fruit and nuts, and have a minor addiction to the cashew cookie nakd bars. Unfortunately being a student means being perpetually broke, making it increasingly difficult to justify spending 85p per bar, so I decided it was high time I made some myself. If you buy the dried fruit on offer (e.g Holland and Barret does frequent buy one get one 1/2 price) it comes out cheaper to make your own. Plus, these are fully customisable.

These bars require literally 3 ingredients and a blender. Not even a fancy blender, I used my £17 breville blender and it worked a charm.

nakd-in-box

Ok I probably could have wrapped these all nicely in baking parchment for the photo, but let’s be real, who has time for that;)

Ingredients: makes 6 bars each apprx the size of a nakd bar (167 cal, 4g protein per bar)

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews (or almond/peanut)
  • 1/3 cup dried apricots (or mango/pear/apple/pinneaple etc)
  • 1/3 cup dates (prunes could also work, if not using medjool then I recommend you soak the dates for 30 mins before beginning to ensure they’re not too dry)

What to do:

  1. Place the nuts in your blender and pulse until fine.
  2. Tip the ground nuts into a bowl and place the fruit in the blender. Pulse until it forms a smooth ball of dough. I scraped the sides with a spatula a few times.
  3. Mix the fruit with the nuts in the bowl then return to the blender to pulse once more.
  4. Line a small tub with cling film and spoon the mixture into the tub. nakd-uncut
  5. Place in the fridge for an hour to set.

That’s it! Super quick, super simple, super delicious.

If you plan to take these in your bag for the day I recommend baking at gas mark 2 for 15 minutes to firm them up slightly.

Leave a Reply

