So you think you want to study English…

About a year ago I began seriously considering what it was I wanted to study at university. Here in the UK that requires narrowing down to one or two subject choices, and then studying them for 3-4 years. I decided that I wanted to study History and English, but had no idea where to go from there. All my medic friends seemed to have work experience practically non-stop, but what work experience can a wannabe English major get?

Then I realised.

I had all the ‘work experience’ I could need right here, no need to leave my room, or even my bed. So what is this miraculous discovery? It’s books, reading many many books. I was told that if I wished to study English, I would have to become familiar with books from ranges of genres and centuries, so I set out to do just that. I will post some reviews and responses to some of them, in the hope that it will help anyone else who wants to study English, or perhaps just inspire someone to pick up a book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Melissa says:

    I absolutely love Tender is the Night, and frankly, all of Fitzgerald’s works. More importantly though, your blog is great! Thank you for your insightful words.

    1. Thank you very much:) This Side of Paradise has to be my favourite Fitzgerald, but I love all of his work, it’s something about his lyrical prose…

Leave a Reply

