DIY dying hair with HENNA

beforeandater.jpg

I’ve used chemical dyes many times before, and my last endeavor to ombré my hair left the ends rather damaged, so I thought I would try using henna. Henna is a natural dye made from the leaves of the henna plant, which naturally gives a red tint to hair, and it can be mixed with various other plants such as indigo (blue black tint) to make it more brown. I have natural red highlights, and did not want my hair to go orange, so I was slightly wary of using 100% henna.  Henna also has great moisturising properties, and makes your hair soft and shiny.

I saw that lush sells premixed henna bars for £9.25, and I figured I would give it a go. I chose the colour Caca Marron, a bar with a little indigo, but mostly henna (I also didn’t want my hair to go too dark). I also didn’t want to dye the roots, as henna is permanent and I don’t want to have to redye it often, so this is kind of a dip dye henna tutorial.

wrapped.jpg

The lush henna comes in a block (unlike the usual powder)

bloc.jpg

You will need:

  • a bar of lush henna
  • a plastic bowl
  • thingy for mixing (I used tint brush, you could use any spoon)
  • grater
  • old clothes
  • rubber gloves
  • plastic bag
  • newspaper (for the floor)
  • patience
  1. Take the block of henna and cut it, for my hair I used 3.5 blocks (and it was too much, 3 would have sufficed), then grate it into the bowl. cutgrate.jpg
  2. Mix the fine powder with strong black tea until it resembles yogurt in consistency.                                                     mixwithtea.jpg
  3. Then cover the bathroom floor with newspaper (bits of henna flake off), put on your old clothes, and begin applying henna. There is no ‘right’ method, I tried using a tint brush it sucked failed miserably, I found just grabbing it with my hands and whacking it on to be the easiest. Yes this makes a mess, but it easily comes off surfaces once you’re done, so don’t worry. I only applied it up to my chin (dip dye). My hair resembled mud dreads once done.                                                                           applytohair.jpg
  4. Then take your plastic bag and place your hair in it, so that the drying henna won’t flake everywhere later, and tie the bag on. If you decide to cover your whole head, placing your hair in a bun and covering it with a plastic bag will keep the henna warm, thus encouraging red tones. If you want it more brown, just let the hair hang down and only cover the ends.                                                                baghair.jpg
  5. Leave it for 3 hours. This is the dull part. I hate waiting.
  6. Then, in the shower wash the henna out. It will take a bit of time to slowly loosen the mud, once most is out, put conditioner on your hands and use to rub your hair and get any remaining henna out.
  7. Blowdry (if you’re too eager to wait for air drying), then YOU’RE DONE.

4hennas.jpg

It’s a subtle red in natural light, and a nice brown in normal artificial light. It’s also sosososo soft.

brightlight.jpg

held under very bright light

So I would 100% recommend the henna, it made my hair uber soft and shiny, with a nice SUBTLE red tint in bright light.

BeFunky_20141230_144559.jpg

4 Comments Add yours

  1. V says:

    It makes a huge difference. Your hair color looks so much more vibrant. I’m considering using this product, but the mess and wait time are putting me off.

    1. Thanks! I wouldn’t worry about the mess, a bit of warm water and a scrubber easily cleans it off floors and sinks:) and it’s so so worth the wait, makes hair uber soft

Leave a Reply

