DIY Sharpie mug

I’ve seen tutorials for sharpie mugs all over the internet, and as I needed to make something for a friend’s birthday, I figured it was high time I gave it a go.

This is my version of how to make a sharpie mug:

you will need:

A mug (the cheaper the better as the enamel will be worse, so the sharpie will become more permanent)

Sharpies (any colours you want)

An oven

Image

  1. Make sure the mug is clean of oily fingerprints (washing should suffice)
  2. Draw and write whatever you want on it. Keep in mind that colours do fade slightly, my red became a light red/pink.
  3. Heat the oven to 200 centigrade, and place the mug in the oven for 30 mins. If you leave it in for longer (I accidentally did for my second mug) then nothing terrible happens, the colours will just fade slightly more.
  4. Let it cool before handling to ensure the colours have set, and then feel free to drink from it.

ImageImage

The colours stayed quite dark which was good.

Image

I made a second one with a matching coaster, stuffed it with toffees and it’s good to go.

I hope this post was helpful, if you liked it, please LIKE it

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

